A Dream that changed my life

04/09/2015 14:13

I had some dreams a long time ago that showed me that , "loving myself = loving others, and Loving others= loving myself!"!
In one powerful dream the band of musicians I was working with at the time cut my brain open. I was glad my life was going to be over until they were about to cut the last artery of connection to my body. "Wait!' I called "just give me a moment to sort out what I missed about living..." they paused with the razor guitar picks "Ok" they laughed, " you have five seconds to figure life out" the rock star surgeons thought my predicament was really funny." I looked in the mirror and saw my opened up brain, nothing seemed to matter, but then as I was about to say good bye to my body I suddenly felt the pangs of overwhelming love for the people in my life that i had yet to fully express. I knew my life's priority then was loving, nothing els mattered as much to me personally.
The feeling was that community and family and deep friends and loved ones are profoundly more important than Americans like to admit. "Oh dont cutt that artery!!!!" I called "! I know what Im living for!" I exclaimed " Please sew my brain up and let me live!" But just then I saw the dead areas of my brain. " Hey while you are at it" I requested "could you do something about my dyslexia?" The surgeon rock stars took out their electric guitars and electrocuted these areas of my brain with golden light. Then what proceeded was an arduous dream of feeling every stitch as they sewed my brain back together. It hurt so bad! But when i awoke I picked up a book and something was different.
I was 22 years old and still didn't have reading comprehension. My dyslexia was such that every time i read a paragraph it said something different and had no relation to the next paragraph. I would try over and over and get different stories each time. So I was unable to continue in college in the university with out walls At UMass because I couldn't read even one book. But after this dream I could read! Very slowly, but the sentences added up to a cohesive story. I read like crazy for several years.
But also after the dream the center of my life's purpose was found...and the transceformative power of music is of course part of it which is why my path involves singing... guitar (espessially electric guitar) heals me to listen to and sing with!

And yes the big question has been how to love freely, without attachment, how to give love comes down to loving ourselves so much there is an overflow! How to be fully alive and content without a lover is important. But we need community and reflection of our unique beauty. Its ok to want to share the love!
Even if we must find the love first within our selves ts still valid and realistic to be looking for who is open to stay present with us in the mutual receiving of receiving! And to be awake to when we are giving to someone who isn't really there, and we are living a lie for looks and status or to be good or because of guilt. And when we get this miraculous precious opportunity to simply appreciate and adore another it's so gooood! Just being present with (not on a phone or computer hopefully!), a friend, a child, a grandparent , mentor or hilarious elder , or lover, I find that often It is loving others that is the best way to myself, and when i do i feel the love that others just naturally are!