Radical-Femme-ness

08/07/2015 11:27

file:///Users/mac/Desktop/ocean%20Song-Large_3.m4v

 

 

"Radical Femme-ness " is the opposite side of feminism, it's with out the "fist";

 

 It's the right we have not won yet to be more feminine than is normally allowed. We women have done a good job of gaining the freedom to act like men, wear pants, have powerful jobs. This is so important, it's the first step. Even though we have yet to pass our bill of rights in government we are acting as if…Bravo! And men who wear two earrings, put on skirts, and dance freely are catching up with their right to be more like women. Yet the right for us all to really embrace feminine values is something very radical to consider. When we actually go this far we restore the  the planet to balance. And an over masculinated world just craves to actually eat that juicy forbidden fruit!

 

When Women want to change the world it starts in the bedroom

 

A friend of mine in Sebastepole California decided to do the Radical-Femme-ness thing to the extreme and support his beloved wife in becoming a "Tantrica" ( a spiritual-sexual healer). He gave his loyal devotion to her and paid lots of money so that she could receive her High priestess training. She wanted to help couples become more cosmic lovers and generally more sexually blissed out. During her training there were super benefits for him, such as weekly lingum massage and all chakrah scrotum and phallic and Yoni worship of all kinds. Sacred sessions happened out in nature with their full devotional surrender and simultaneous fiery passion awakening their love! Etc!Man did he luck out!

Now of course this is a very extreme example of a radical-femme-ness path. Yet the desire of the feminine spirit is different for each of us and is awakening all over the world in ever new forms. But for this couple it was the mystical sexual revolution they wanted to ignite ( or at least she was ready). For them the question :"What does it mean to love your partner unconditionally?" was the required preliminary course. They had no training in this and entered really deep waters too unprepared to make it all the way across to a new shore.

For some unconditional love means deep monogamy and the Tantrica path would be too difficult to integrate. For others unconditional love might start with choosing to claim each other by the depth of your loving connection and need to create together but not by owner ship of each others bodies or sexuality. I use this extreme example because when ever the call of the deep feminine voice is allowed to be heard it inevitably feels as earth shaking as one's wife wanting to share her blessings as a Tantrica.

The day finally came and my friends wife opened her practice. She wanted her husband to be there and hold sacred space with her as she worked with her client. She meant this to keep it clear that her sexual-romantic alliance was with her husband. However in her earnest focus to help her male client. Ummm…lets say every thing went really well……;

The sexy charisma of his wife stirred her husbands loins as he watched her do somebody els. In fact he felt a wave of unconditional Love for all man kind and as he enjoyed the show he realized he was actually gay….no wait that might be confusing for their marriage… naw, lets see, what is a better scenario? Oh! She trains her client in how to go down on woman kind by doing her real - real good. And her husband learns some new tricks by watching…yeah! And her client does not feel inadequate by admitting he wants help to become a better lover and understand women's bodies. He's an awesome client and now she falls in love with him….Oh no wait , that's bad for the husband…

.Any of those examples can happen. Tantrica work is delicate and volatile at best. It's most dangerous for her because women's sexuality is set up culturally on the premise of ownership.……
Well actually heres what happened;

Her husband witnessed something he wished he never saw. She was sharing her sensual energy fully with another man. He discovered her magical ability to connect with a stranger in a sexual way that was completely devotional and loving. What she did, and how she did it would open this strangers heart and body forever. When Her husband saw this exchange of energy he was shocked. Some how he imagined that he was the only one who would ever receive from her that deeply. And she did it so easily without even having sex! How could he trust her if she could just turn sacred energy on? He felt threatened and angry at himself for supporting her in this career path. What was he expecting? suddenly he could no longer get an erection with her. He was withholding his love, or it just wasn't there anymore.

 

His wife became desperate, how could she win his love back? Yet all along she thought her wild wide open heart was what turned him on to her. She loved him so much for supporting her to be a sexual revolutionary. who did he want her to be now? It seemed the only act of sacrifice he would understand would be for her to forsake her calling, and give up her life long wish to be a Tantrica. If she continued to do her work she could lose his love forever. And the would point was love! More more more Love!

 

If she lost him she would also lose her home, her safety net for survival, her protection for their three children, and their tantric practice together that gave her so much joy. So she did what women have done for hundreds of years. She gave up her dream, and kept her family together. All it meant was sacrificing her own soul dharma and personal happiness. Sublimating her voice would make her man "happy" and protect herself from living with no support.

 

How can we start to nourish Radical-Femme-ness, when we are faced with her unreasonable desire? Woman wants a change that often feels completely unreasonable to man. Man says "no" and threatens woman's survival if she goes that far. End of story?…. over and over again this is how women's values and message are stifled from being born and changing the world. My friends wife tried to replace her Tantrica calling by taking up a craft hobby. She would be a potter now, and he wouldn't be threatened by this. Yet by comparison, even though pottery is an ancient sacred art of Earth worship…she would not be changing the world.

 

She had to make herself smaller to prop him up as bigger. But in doing this she lost her real interest in him. What she had now was fixation on safety. Her passionate partnership was now simply a domestic partnership. She opted for physical and emotional dependance on him instead of going her own way and trusting herself.

 

But truly the Tantrica path is almost impossible for a woman to offer alone without it sliding into prostitution. She has to keep men in proper worshipful openness. A certain distance with strong boundaries make it possible for client men to really learn from her the sacred healing arts of Tantric sexuality. To do her work safely she really needs a life partner at her side to demonstrate with or hold space for others with her. But in this case since her whole life she had been sublimating her calling, and since it took all the way into her mid forties to have the courage to admit what she wanted to make possible for others….she was giving up her souls reason to be on Earth in exchange for ….what?

Now her knight in shinning body oil was just another guy with out trust in her. He was just another smaller minded man than her, who couldn't stretch beyond his ego to learn from her new and different way. What her man did not understand was that he could get through the discomfort. It was courageously a new path she was blazing for them together. This was his souls one major opportunity to open into a new much deeper level of joy. This new joy of following her bliss path would take them both to passionate partnership. Yet this would be play beyond the happiness he was attached to having stay the same.

 

I was so disappointed when I realized what happened for these two pioneers. I am so sad and mad that yet another woman gave up her dream. To me her expansion was new healing territory on behalf of us all. Her contraction into oblivion feels to me like the loss for all of us of curiosity and experimentation. I could never do that kind of work. I need her to do it on my behalf. It takes real guts and intense inner and outer sacrifice to be a Tantrica.

 

But as long as she would be punished for her wild desire (by having her physical and emotional security withdrawn by her man) her dream was no longer worth it to her or even possible for her to continue to manifest. A person trying out something new and radical needs a lot of support. Already its super human what they are doing by going against mainstream values.

 

Yet I could feel how the real reason she had bloomed into her calling was that her husband was so inspiring to her, he was such a sacred lover for her that she was spilling over with nectar! She wanted to share the garden of heaven they had entered with many others. She wants to show the way to a sexual bliss path to nourish the heart of life! She wanted to nourish the spirit heart of woman kind….our Lotus -Cunts''!

 

 
 

 "Woman dreams…man tells her "its a cute dream" ….woman is encouraged and asks for support (Out of the money pool they both earn, she has to ask but often he doesn't bother to ask her)….man says "sure honey you can have a hobby"…..hobby takes on a life of its own as woman begins nourishing many more beyond her immediate family….woman is less available to serve man….man gets sulky violent or bitter….woman asks for sacrifice and substantial support…man says "we can't afford it. It costs too much"….woman uses her own resources with out his help and makes her own headway….man says "unless you stop I will leave you, and you can survive on your own with out my help"  ….woman tries doing more for him while she continues her work against all odds….then man threatens to withdraw his support for the children or separate woman from her children….woman cries bitterly…man withdraws his love for her… she "proves her love" for him by never doing her own thing as fully again…man forgives woman very slowly for denying him attention, and giving the world attention he thinks should be only for him…. True love dies, materialism prevails. "

 

What Radical-Femme-ness really brings forth, inherently challenges male established prerogatives. Her way is not his way. Her way should have been integrated all along the path of our evolution but instead we all conspired to sublimate our inner woman's voice. So now her voice when it explodes forth, topples his orderly world with himself at the top. Over and over again the thing our inner woman dreams has been shot down if it threatens our inner or outer mans privileges. He wants to stop her  because she is so different than him when she is in her true Radical-Femme-ness. 

 

Take for instance lawn mowers, and snow blowers. I value peace and quiet. They destroy weekends rest, and summers music. How about we allow their usage one time per week during set hours and ban them the rest of the week!? And how about we muffle motor cycles and all water play toys and motor boats? But if my boss is a man who wants to fire me for lobbying to wreck his leisure time and "A mans right to be noisy", I may shut up. Pull the rug out from underneath her of financial support or love and approval, and she almost has to give up on contributing her values to the world.

 

This week I failed my feminine heart deeply.

 

This week I failed my feminine heart deeply.
I hit a big turtle while driving a friend of mine to a doctors appointment. I could see the turtle in my rear view mirror kicking her feet rocking upside down on the pavement " the turtle is still alive!" I said to my friend " I have to go back and turn her over before another car hits her" but to my shock my friend replied desperately "no you can't" he said "I might miss my appointment and I'm in so much pain I dont think I could hanble that" but I cajolled " I think it will work out, you and the turtle will get your needs met! We must go back , it isnt right!" But my friend insisted " Hey look I am the priority here, I hired you to get me to an emergency appointment for my aching tooth. I really need your help.Pray for the turtle and do the right thing by me". 


I was caught between my friends pain, my own need for the money that day that would give me groceries for my daughter and my need to be responsible to the larger story of the heart of the world…my Mother….the little Turtle … and the mother of all of us ….the large Earth Turtle. He wanted me to pray when we could take action? This made me feel sick. I was disgusted by his suggestion. And let the turtle eat cake too! But the road was one lane with many curves and it had no shoulder to pull off or turn around. Going back was more than likely to make my friend late to his apt by the time I could turn around and double back. He might even miss his appointment since they had fit him into the schedule as an emergency case that day.


Could the relentless grind of a clock enslaved society be flexible enough to allow these precious ten minutes I needed to be responsible to the heart of life? No! This is America where we are not supposed to flow spontaneously and follow the deep intimate priorities of feminine values. My values have to do with relatedness to all things and care for all life. I felt that there was room for everyone to be taken care of, my friend and his tooth… the turtle were not in competition, its just that the turtle obviously came first by necessity. My friend was angry now that I wanted to take care of the turtle before him. And I was a coward working for money and acceptance. I left the turtle upside down on the windy road ready to be killed by the next car.


I dropped my friend to his appointment.  I raced back to save the turtle. As I wound through the forest lanes I became lost. I thought about how a linear mind sets up a world that is not flexible and then people act like police with no humanity. To keep our order we act like babies and throw tantrums to have everything go our own way or we may threaten and act like bullies every one placates to avoid. 

In my experience Men are more often the ones who generally play out this whole story. They think of this as providing safety for us women, but life is far less safe when there is no room to receive or respond. And when things are so "safe" life is steril and way less fun. And love can not be shared under duress. In such a blind grind often the help women want to give must be sneaked instead of openly handed to those in need. This often because men discourage women from giving with open hands recources they feel they earned without her help.

But this story is not about my friend being too self centered. And its not even about dynamics between men and women. Its about how all of us get side tracked from our truth. It's about having the courage to ruffel feathers and do the right thing by our own concience despite the fears of others.


Why didn't I just do the right thing and turn around and comfort my friend...
"Grace will take care of you both. But if we miss your appointment, I will stay with you through the pain tonight, But when another beings life is at stake our spirits too need to balance with the natural world...
Who is to say a turtles life is less important than ours?
You will be better off if you endure pain to save a life..." 
I wish I could have told myself " My money comes to me from the mother, so she comes first! I don't want money if I have to sell my mother Turtle down river to get it! I will go hungry for today so my daughter will eat and the turtle will too! "


But instead I acted like a slave to my survival frears, like many women do. There is a psychology we have to break out of. But the thing is I am actually willing to go hungry to stand up for my truth, but I am not willing to have my daughter go hungry. The threat of missing the appointment and not getting paid took the righteous thunder out of my sales. And so it is over and over again. What do we need to do to awaken feminine consciousness and stand by her and our children and stand up to men when they want to limit our genorosity?


I felt so sad about all the women all over the Earth doing the wrong thing against our hearts tender calling, because of being too afraid to stand up. Because of the fear of hurtful domination by men on so many different levels.


I remember a story Amachi told us as we eagerly awaited her blessed words and her life changing hugs. She said;

 
" You women are like the logg carrying elephant of the jungle. When the elephant was a baby she was chained to a stake hammered into the ground. As she grew she carried mighty loads for every one. Yet at the end of the day she always remained chained by the same little chain to the same little stake. At any time she could have lifted the stake right out of the ground and roamed free. 
But in her mind she was trapped. You women are like the mighty elephant. (said Amachi)
You have all the power you need to free your selves and simply pull up your chain. But you believe you are trapped. But the men dont trap you. you disempower yourself and act like helpless dutiful servants. Pull up the stake!"


at last I recognized the spot where I hit the turtle. But to my amazement and relief she was not there. I returned to my friend to pick him up from his appointment. When I got there he said they changed the apt to another day. And he wasn't in pain now that he had medication he was desperate for. He was hoped that his shamanic prayer might have helped the turtle. I saw how everything still would have worked out if I had protected my mother and my brother!

 

 
 

When we follow our Radical-Femme-ness life takes a big turn!

 

Ok , so you wake up one day and you have this crazy notion of what you really want. The only thing is, to fulfill your wish your life turns upside down! You are taken in the night by the Goddess of sensual ecstasy and you just can't return to expected tradition in the morning. Like my father, (president of a pantyhose factory), one day he just could't  be that CEO. Instead he declared himself as an artist even with seven children to feed! Similarly, I awoke several years ago to realize my thirty years working with children had come to a close. Why?… when I was doing the best work I have ever seen children receive? But suddenly I couldn't continue. It was as if the road ended at a cliff edge. And there was a bungee cord and zip line set up instead. I needed to grow in all new ways. I had mastered my craft. Only a different job would round out all my lacking attributes. 

 

We are here to grow! As with nature,; If plants are not growing they are dyeing. And so it is with us. So when my Goddess took me in the night to my hearts calling I could no longer resist growing! I had been a seed under the earth for long enough. I told my daughter and mother "I am called to be a singer" I added "I know it makes no logical sense, people will say I'm too old, my dyslexia makes it impossible to read music, I don't play an instrument, and I'm completely out of the pop loop. But I figure I just have to undo everything I learned over those fifteen years studying opera and musical theater…. Everything will be magical." They gafawed at the ridiculousness of my big "epiphany".  I defended my brazen inner guidance taking us on yet another wild ride. I went on to explain to my daughter and mother " my heart is always singing. I want to give people new meaningful messages inside heart opening music. These songs I write will be like mantras to help their lives! " …" oh yeah and I want to have glamorous fun and dress up a lot and dance all the time. I want to instigate parties again where people can't resist dancing together in connection to their sensuality and romantic bliss"….Blah blah blah.. My daughter and mother looked at me in disbelief.

 

I reminded them about my last do or die Epiphany.  I conceived of "The Art Bridge; Center for the five arts" . And when I said yes to this inner voice, the magical unseen world supported this intuitive voice speaking earnestly. I raised the money with friends an entire Art center to bloom (and well yes, also crash and burn! ) But despite the fact that the center only lasted five years It was a huge success on an experiential scale. Unfortunately a terrible mould took over all our freshly renovated buildings making programs and studio rentals suddenly impossible….( the ancient Native american name for this region is "land of moulds" !!! But modern people ignore such obvious truths! ) However for four magical years  while we were renovating to meet code standards, We gave homeschool programs in " The five Arts and art-ecology". We served  over a hundred families. We also threw the most heart warming monthly parties. They were community musicals hosted by puppets who sprang to life as professional actors, dancers and live musicians! These parties turned into community building art celebrations for the whole family. Who but the wild woman within us would concoct such fun?

 

 I went on to tell my daughter and mother my simple plan about becoming a singer; "we will down size to a small efficient apartment, I will work night shifts that allow me to study music. I will also do housekeeping that allows me to sing and study my music on head phones as I clean. And I will double my freelance healing practice. all of this will give me the space to study and the creative energy reserved for myself to create music with. we will have less money but you will have a joyful mother content to be following her bliss no matter what results I do or don't get." My daughter and mother now looked horrified! Now if I had set up a situation of truly depriving my daughter or abandoning my family that would not be Radical-Femme-ness. That would be called artistic narcism. Radical Femme-ness loves passionately and fiercely. But she stays present in her love and anger. She never jumps ship, she is intricate and determined to find the way to do what she knows will bless many, and simultaneously have everyones needs met at the same time.The sacrifices my daughter would have to make by my giving up a  lucrative career, would also teach her what it means to follow your dreams as well as what it takes! So far my plan is working out. And my daughter is doing better than ever despite me and because of me!

 

It is painfully true that unlike fifteen years ago there is almost no work that pays musicians around here any longer. That's true in real time. But everything actually starts in the "dream time". Which time is actually the real time? The world is born of our constant craving ,wishing , believing, and our actions follow our minds focus. On the pessimistic side, even the famous musicians now are fighting for their proceeds as Pandora Radio and the internet takes their profits ( giving us all their work for free.) On the optimistic side Taylor Swift followed her own radical femme-ness and sold her album in her own way. She is richer than ever because of this and is setting a new standard for us all. 

 

Yet Radical Femme-ness is not about outer ideas of success. It's mainly about inner results. How do I feel about being alive? Am I fulfilling my life's purpose? Am I really striving to give all I came to receive while giving? Following your Inner feminine is the same as following your unabashed essence. No apologies, just core values in action!  Today I value family, Nature, wild joy, inner freedom, a quiet mind, playful community fun, creative expression in all five arts, Mother Divine time, sensual bliss, great food, love overflowing, awakeness, sexual expansion! All this becomes amplified from the power of authentic choice. Following the deep feminine river is about putting the experience you give your self in being human as the highest value. Only your own heart can measure this.

 

 I need to be free to follow her voice all the times. Yet I often find that if I hang out with men too much, I get talked out of my truth.

 

They get scared for me, they just want to protect me. But i am much safer on this sacred cliff edge where my bungee cord zip line life begins, because what we love is connected to the love that sustains everything! My solution to maintaining my walk in beauty, has been to be vulnerably self sufficient and single. This way I have the freedom to live authentically without having to argue for my right to my way of deciding and being. But this living separate to live authentically and free is also sad. Of course  I would rather have devotional love as well as my Radical-Femme-ness calling. But if I have to choose… I now choose my calling because this choice includes true love of myself! And if A man enters my life  I notice that now I want the same level of loving devotion and creative faithful support I have given men.  But truthfully who will make the same sacrifices for me? Do I have enough inner and outer support so that I can affect the world with my true vision of shared resources? I want  all the "crazy" schemes of the deep feminine to be born into action now! And Sharing energy, recourses, love, wisdom, and even sexual energy feels like it will save life in these times of accelerated climate changes!!!